The formation of the Border Chapter in 1983 was due to the vision of many who knew there was a need for another chapter in the southern California area. Southern Chapter's President, Fred Preble was instrumental in organizing the new chapter. As  previous members of the Southern Chapter, Border Chapter members traveled many miles to attend meetings in Los Angeles and Orange counties . . . traffic wasn't any better 20 years ago and the distance became an obstacle for many agencies in our area.

The goal of the new chapter became three-fold:

  • To Increase participation at meetings,
  • To Increase membership,
  • To localize the meetings.

Founding members included:  Richard Hudnall, Sheila Tarvin, Cathy Balzum, Sue Roos, Connie Sprunk, Ruby Nealges, Pat Fernandez, Billie Bohannon, Pearl Owens, Eleanor Clapp, among others.

Most of these members have since retired from law enforcement.   Many have kept active within CLEARS and the BORDER Chapter and are a continued valuable source of information for our newer members.


1983 Richard Hudnall UCSD Police Department
1984- 85 Sheila Tarvin Carlsbad Police Department
1986 Richard Hudnall UCSD Police Department
1987- 88 Sue Roos Chula Vista Police Department
1989 June Stuart San Diego Sheriff's Office
1990 Dennis Kessinger UCSD Police Department
  Billie Bohannon El Centro Police Department
1991 - 92 Billie Bohannon El Centro Police Department
1993 - 94 Cathy Balzum Oceanside Police Department
1995 Rosemary Bergman Kolanda National City Police Department
1996 - 97 Barbara Neilson El Cajon Police Department
1998 Carmelita Hawkins San Diego Harbor Police Department
1999 - 2001 Delphine Smith Carlsbad Police Department
2002 - 2004 Heather Kenney San Diego County Sheriff's Office
2005-2009 Delphine Smith Carlsbad Police Department
2010 Angela Ellis San Diego Sheriff's Department
2011-2014 Cathy Osgan Oceanside Police Department
2015-2016 Shannel Honore El Cajon Police Department
2017-2018 Jennifer Kelly Oceanside Police Department
2019 Shannel Honore El Cajon Police Department



Heather Kinney County of San Diego
Sabrina Cota San Diego State University Police
Melba Bradley San Diego SO, Retired
Angela Ellis San Diego SO, Retired
Mary Garcia    UCSD, Retired
Delphine Fisk Carlsbad PD, Retired
Kathy Klick San Diego PD, Retired
Heather Kinney San Diego Sheriff's Dept.
Liz Foster Escondido PD, Retired
Rosemary Kolanda National City PD, Retired
Cathern Balzum OPD Retired
Billie Bohannon El Centro PD, Retired
Eleanor Clapp Escondido PD, Retired
Joan Copeland SDSP Retired
Richard Hudnall UCSD, Retired
Norv Krager SDSO Retired
Paul Pane DOJ
Lee Riley Escondido PD, Retired
Susan Roos Chula Vista, PD Retired
Sheila Tarvin Carlsbad PD, Retired
Jonell Wareham Imperial County SO, Retired
Sue Roos Chula Vista PD Retired
Ruby Neagles San Diego SO Retired